VHF Channel 66
call sign, Lymington Harbour (office hours)

All Change at the Helm

18 May 2017

We enter the new sailing season with a change at the helm of
Lymington Harbour Commissioners.

On the 31st May 2017 Geoff Holmes steps down as a Commissioner after six years of service, the last four and a half as Chairman. At Geoff’s final meeting on the 15th May, Ryan Willegers (Harbour Master) said:

“Speaking for myself, I am probably in the unique position to appreciate the amount of work, commitment and dedication that Geoff has put in as Chairman. On behalf of my team, Commissioners and harbour users, I would like to take this opportunity to acknowledge our appreciation. Although Geoff is retiring, I know that he will continue to take a keen interest in the ongoing work of the Commissioners and I wish him all the very best.”

Geoff is succeeded as Chairman by Richard Jenner on the 1st June 2017. Richard was appointed as a Commissioner in November 2011 and was elected Vice Chairman in November 2016. Richard is a retired senior operational executive from a national manufacturing and distribution centre. Richard is a past Commodore of Lymington Town Sailing Club and he and his family have lived in Lymington for over 30 years and have been very involved with boating.

At their meeting on the 15th May the Commissioners elected Tim Harford as Vice Chairman. Paul Martin was reappointed as a Commissioner for a second three year term. Both appointments take effect on the 1st June 2017.
Geoff Holmes (L) being presented with engraved ‘Ships’ decanter by Richard Jenner

All Change at the Helm